Honors Committee Report

Honors Committee

The Honors Committee for the Academy of Neurologic Communication Disorders and Sciences (ANCDS) welcomes nominations of current members of ANCDS for the 2016 Honors of the Academy.

Nominees should be members who have shown outstanding contributions to research, teaching, treatment, and/or service in the area of neurologic communication disorders. Nominations are due April 30, 2016.

Submit your nomination, including the following information, no later than April 30, 2016, to the ANCDS Honors Committee, c/o Mary Boyle, Department of Communication Sciences & Disorders, Montclair State University, 1515 Broad Street, Bloomfield, NJ 07003, or by email to [email protected].

Nominator’s Name (Your name):
Contact Information, Address, and Phone Number(s):

Name of Nominee:
Contact Information, Address, and Phone Number(s):

To support this nomination, please outline on an attachment (there is no page limit) the nominee’s outstanding accomplishments in any of the following areas: research, teaching, treatment, service in the area of neurologic communication disorders; and/or notable contributions to the Academy. Please provide a current CV for the nominee; letters of support are encouraged.

To see who received the Honors in the past, go to ancds.org > About Us > Honors of the ANCDS.

Mary Boyle, Ph.D., BC-ANCDS


The members of the 2015 Honors Committee, Joseph Duffy, Roberta Elman, Lyn Turkstra, and Julie Wambaugh, join me in recognizing an individual who has made significant contributions to people who have neurologic communication disorders and the professionals who work with them. In a career that has encompassed clinical, administrative, and academic appointments, this person has served as clinician, administrator, educator, researcher, author, and mentor. Our honoree is someone who has provided a level of service and leadership in the workplace and in professional associations that commands respect, admiration, and gratitude from all of us who have benefited from these efforts.

The distinguished recipient of the 2015 ANCDS Honors:

  • Has mentored countless speech-language pathologists who have gone on to become successful clinicians, administrators, and researchers in their own careers;
  • Has served as Investigator, Co-Investigator, or Co-Principal Investigator for research projects supported by the National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders, the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research, and the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development;
  • Has authored or co-authored 30 refereed journal articles, 18 book chapters, and six books;
  • Has presented more than 50 papers to state, regional, and national conferences, many of them invited
  • Has been designated
    • as a Fellow of ASHA
    • and as a recipient of the Honors of ASHA;
    • Is a member of ten distinguished professional associations, including Charter Membership in the Academy of Aphasia;
    • Has served as a member or chair of 49 committees, ten boards, and held offices in three of these associations;
    • Is a founding member of ANCDS and has served this organization
      • as a member of the Professional Affairs Committee,
      • as a member of the Meetings Committee,
      • as Member-at-Large of the Executive Board,
      • as Chair of the Membership Committee,
      • and as a member and Chair of the Honors Committee

Our honoree was one of the first in our profession to address the clinical management of individuals with right hemisphere disorders, developing a clinical manual, and later a book, that described assessment and treatment of this population. She has had a profound influence on hundreds of speech-language pathologists, both as the director of a large department of communication disorders where she set the highest standards of clinical excellence and professionalism, and as the administrator of continuing education courses for allied health and medical professionals. Our honoree holds an appointment as Associate Professor in the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation in the Feinberg School of Medicine at Northwestern University.

For her lifetime of extraordinary dedication and service, we are extremely proud and pleased to present the 2015 Honors of the Academy of Neurologic Communication Sciences and Disorders to our distinguished colleague, Anita Halper.

Share this post:

Comments on "Honors Committee Report"

Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment