Committee Updates - Winter 2017

Board Certification Committee:
Congratulations to Karen Copeland, M.A., CCC-SLP, who achieved board certification in adult neurologic communication disorders on 11/16/2016! Karen currently works as an SLP in the outpatient rehabilitation department at St. John Medical Center in Tulsa, OK. Her work responsibilities are divided between patient care and coordination of educational activities for the rehab services department, including student clinical rotations and inservice education for rehab therapists. Karen is also an adjunct instructor for Oklahoma State University-Tulsa, where she has coordinated Cowboy Aphasia Camp for the past 5 years. She is a Past-President of the Oklahoma Speech-Language-Hearing Association, and a former Chair of the Oklahoma Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology & Audiology. Karen's research interests include quality of life outcomes for people with aphasia, and the scholarship of teaching and learning.

Professional Affairs and Research Writing Committee:
2016 was associated with lots of changes and accomplishments for the Professional Affairs and Research Writing Committee. In terms of changes, Laura Murray began her term as committee chair, and joining Kirrie Ballard (Apraxia of Speech), Therese O'Neil-Pirozzi (TBI), and Mary Purdy (Aphasia) as Writing Group chairs were Maya Henry (Progressive Neurogenic Communication Disorders), Deanna Britton (Dysarthria), and Peggy Lehman-Blake (Right Hemisphere Disorders Writing Group newly formed in 2016). In terms of projects, the Aphasia group recently completed a systematic review regarding reading intervention for aphasia; the outcomes of their review were presented at two national, peer-reviewed conferences and recently submitted for publication. Each of the remaining groups has one or more systematic and/or scoping reviews underway focusing on a range of construct, assessment, and intervention topics relevant to pediatric and/or adult populations. Watch for the products of these Writing Groups throughout the upcoming year!

Communications Committee Update:
I would like to thank the members of the Communications Committee (Edie Babbitt, Michael Biel, Heather Coles, Karen Prescott Copeland, Heather Jeng, Joel Krutt, Peter Meulenbroek, Katy O'Brien, Maggie Potter, Amy Rodriguez, Yvonne Rogalski, and Meghan Savage) for their valued service on this committee. I would also like to send a warm welcome to our new volunteers who have joined our team: Erin Mattingly and Leah Ramirez. We're excited to have them on board! 

The committee is continuing to launch podcasts thanks to Michael Biel. The newest podcast titled, ‘An interview with Natalie Douglas’ can be found at

The committee would like members to continue to LIKE and FOLLOW us on the ANCDS Facebook page, which can be found at and twitter at Stay tuned.... ANCDS is coming to Instagram!

Please email any feedback about the newsletter to Edie or Heather at: [email protected] or [email protected].

Share this post:

Comments on "Committee Updates - Winter 2017"

Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment